And MORE fall chicks!!!

And MORE fall chicks! This little hen (I think I’ll name her Rosey, her brother’s name is Randy) has hatched 7 out of 8 eggs as well, 4 silkie eggs and 3 standard eggs. She did it without any extra nest, just the straw in the nursery nest. She’s half silky, and half rhode island red, and not even 5 months old yet. She laid an egg or two then decided to go broody. Because they were her pullet eggs, I pulled them and substituted eggs from my older silkies along with some standard hens’ eggs, but I’m actually very anxious to get chicks from her. She is falling right in line, so far, with exactly what I’d hoped to develop in my home flock. She’s earned her brother a place on the farm even though I already had two roosters, because breeding their traits back in will probably be very useful.

 

She’s very fierce too, which is not typical of silkies. They may peck at me when I examine the nests or chicks, but this little red hen is vicious, LOL. She screams and tries to bite me hard! Which is actually not a bad thing … chicks can sometimes be saved by fierce mama hens. Two good traits so far. If she lays as well as my other silkies do, and especially if her eggs develop more size, she will be a near-perfect combination of the best of all breeds. Is it too much to hope that her eggs will also be the yolk-rich balance that my silkies tend to lay? I didn’t expect to get all that wrapped up in one bird in only one generation, so I will take whatever percentage I get for now. I’m very pleased with her!

About Inspired Ink

Artist, crafter, writer, experimental chef extraordinaire ;) ... farmer, mom, teacher, gardener, natural health enthusiast. I love my life, am surrounded by animals that make me laugh and entertain me, from silently chattering muscovies to a dancing llama. My favorite hobby right now is finding old things at the flea market and turning them into something new and different. I love to surround myself with beautiful things (beauty is always in the eye of the beholder), better yet if they are made by my own hands. I love to dance, to sing, to smile and laugh. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Cages Nests Coops Barns, Chickens, Livestock and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

