Trimming Goatie-hooves

Not as hard as I thought! I’ve seen that the black type of hoof tends to wear very well on the hard areas in the pasture, and so none of my black-hoofed goats have needed trimming yet. But one little doe has brown hooves, and hers were starting to grow long and uneven. I knew it was time to trim them, but from what I’d read online, it sounded like a daunting task – one I was afraid I’d mess up.

 

Enter a $3 pair of garden shears – the same kind you might use to prune bushes. Load the doe onto the milk stand and put some grain in the feed tray, lift a hoof and – really, it was just a quick snip-snip of the overgrown part. It was very easy to shape the hoof into a normal, flat shape, no planer or filing required. The hoof was not as hard as I had guessed either.

 

With that experience, I went ahead and did a slight touchup trim on two other does as well. It wasn’t really NEEDED, but it didn’t hurt either and evened the hooves before they needed trimming. Now I realize, it’s really not a big deal, and next time I’ll stay on top of it and trim them several times a year. One more lesson learned …

About Inspired Ink

Artist, crafter, writer, experimental chef extraordinaire ;) ... farmer, mom, teacher, gardener, natural health enthusiast. I love my life, am surrounded by animals that make me laugh and entertain me, from silently chattering muscovies to a dancing llama. My favorite hobby right now is finding old things at the flea market and turning them into something new and different. I love to surround myself with beautiful things (beauty is always in the eye of the beholder), better yet if they are made by my own hands. I love to dance, to sing, to smile and laugh. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Goats and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

