Chores, chores

Just trying to organize tasks this week.

I have several rabbit does due to kindle over the next week, and the ones that still have family members in with them are going to have the extras removed to their own cages. I’m short one cage, so I’ve been repairing older cages because I anticipate not having one of the does after next week – she’s failed to produce a litter from her last three breedings and I’m afraid she isn’t earning her keep, which makes me a little sad because she was one of the matriarchs and my best breeder initially. I have a couple of bucks that need to be sold soon so I can have their cages also.

I’m expecting another hatch of chicks, so the not-quite-ready youngsters from the oldest hatching are going to have to be removed to a regular nest and make way for new chicks in the protected lower row of boxes. Who knew chickens would go into broody-overdrive in the fall and I would be expecting more chicks than I have nursery nest boxes set up for? At least it’s pretty much too cold for snakes to be a problem.

Speaking of the colder weather, I just realized that by the time our overnight temps reach freezing next week, I will need to have all the pumpkins properly stored, and there are still a LOT of them … probably about 1800 pounds. Many are going to be cut up and frozen, and many others will be stored in the feed room.

And in the feed room, I’m cleaning bins in which to begin rotating seed sprouts for feed. I purchased 50 pounds each of whole wheat and whole oats for less than I normally pay for laying pellets, which when sprouted should increase both the available nutrients and the volume of feed for nothing more than a bit of water and a little work.  I’ll be posting more details about this as it develops.

All this week I’ve been trying to monitor my dog’s digestion very carefully. It seems I was likely right about his problem, since the enzymes are helping, but since I have not been able to source enough wild pig pancreas for him, I’m putting him on pancreatin from the health food store. He’s been on it for only two days but it seems to be even more effective than the enzymes.

I also need to try to determine exactly what the market for duck eggs might be, since I am getting around a dozen a day right now and they are potentially worth more than chicken eggs, but the ducks were not supposed to be here overwinter – not all of them anyway. But since the chickens are very slow to be coming out of their molt, the ducks are actually providing me with many more eggs for very little feed compared to the hens, which seem to want to produce only a few eggs and are more interested in producing chicks just now!

So if I seem a little scatter-brained this week … I am!

About Inspired Ink

Artist, crafter, writer, experimental chef extraordinaire ;) ... farmer, mom, teacher, gardener, natural health enthusiast. I love my life, am surrounded by animals that make me laugh and entertain me, from silently chattering muscovies to a dancing llama. My favorite hobby right now is finding old things at the flea market and turning them into something new and different. I love to surround myself with beautiful things (beauty is always in the eye of the beholder), better yet if they are made by my own hands. I love to dance, to sing, to smile and laugh. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Cages Nests Coops Barns, Chickens, Dogs, Ducks, Feeding, Livestock, Pets, Rabbits and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chores, chores

  1. Tammy says:

    Hi! I’m interested that your hens are having a slow molt -mine seem to be having the slowest molt ever this year. So I have 60 layers and I’m getting 1 – 4 eggs a day, of late, before that only 1-2 per day since AUGUST! I haven’t recalled my hens having such a slow molt ever(have been raising chickens for 10 years.)

    So hopefully they’ll come around like gangbusters. I do miss being able to have plenty of eggs for us and plenty for my customers.

    I have had much success selling duck eggs. They go for so much more. Whole Foods sells them for a ridiculous amount, or so it seems, something like $3/two eggs! I like them for baking and so do my customers. I was selling a dozen for $5 here in Southern Vermont. Mine are free ranged and so I don’t know if that helps or not.

    Good luck with all that you are doing. Busy, busy, busy!

    • Hi Tammy, nice to meet you!

      Thanks for your comments. I’ve been raising chickens for a while too, and never seen such a slow molt either. They are all starting to look much better now, but I’m still only getting a few eggs per day. So, hopefully mine as well as yours will come around. 🙂 I’m used to being overrun with eggs too, and I have fewer layers than you do, but right now I can’t afford to let any eggs go. If a hen goes broody, I have to save eggs for several days just to give her a clutch, and I’m not eating many at all.

      Thanks especially for your comments about duck eggs. I’ve got to get on top of that and check the market around here. Mine are free range too … in fact I feed the ducks very little food. They spend most of their days wandering around the acre or so of land in the front, eating grass and weeds and who-knows-what they are digging out of the soil (surely bugs and slugs!).

      Homesteads are always busy, aren’t they? 😉 I have a feeling I’m not going to have all the pumpkins put up by the time it freezes, so I may be scrambling to figure out what to do with previously-frozen pumpkin!

Leave a Reply

