Pumpkins and sprouts

Haven’t posted in a week — I’ve been crazy-busy trying to earn some money. I expect I’m not the only one in that boat. But I have to make time for other things too. 🙂

I’m hoping to start adding pages for some of the main “characters” around here, so when I say Ryker or Crystal or Fidget or Frodo, y’all know who I’m talking about. That should be fun. I enjoy writing about all my little (and in some cases big!) friends around here.

The pumpkins are steadily disappearing into the goats. The other animals eat them but the goats really love them. I have an easy time of it now … I just cut two pumpkins in half and toss them over the fence, and the goats enjoy rolling them to get at the parts they want, eating the seeds and thready parts first then munching away the flesh. They leave the rinds. At the rate we are going, I probably have another 3 months’ worth of pumpkins at least.

I’m also putting a real dent in my feed costs with the sprouts. So far I am sprouting wheat and oats. I’d like to add barley, and I’m considering beans. I run them on a 6-day cycle. It took a couple of days for most of the animals to get used to them and accept them as food (except the goats, who snarfed them up right off, and the chickens, who ate at least 90% the first day after picking through them a bit). Now the ducks and geese are cleaning their feeding trays as well, and my cost per volume is less than half that of the pellets and scratch, and I think they are getting better nutrition as well.

Apparently, llamas don’t like sprouts. Misty turns her nose up at them and gives me a disgusted look as if I’m trying to poison her. And her food is the most expensive mixture of all. Maybe she feels like royalty, being the one that costs the most and basically doesn’t have to work or produce (she’s going to start giving up that fiber though, she just doesn’t know it yet!).

About Inspired Ink

Artist, crafter, writer, experimental chef extraordinaire ;) ... farmer, mom, teacher, gardener, natural health enthusiast. I love my life, am surrounded by animals that make me laugh and entertain me, from silently chattering muscovies to a dancing llama. My favorite hobby right now is finding old things at the flea market and turning them into something new and different. I love to surround myself with beautiful things (beauty is always in the eye of the beholder), better yet if they are made by my own hands. I love to dance, to sing, to smile and laugh. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Chickens, Ducks, Feeding, Goats, Livestock, Llama and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkins and sprouts

  1. Tammy says:

    Hi! I love your posts! I was wondering if you had any pictures of the sprout-project! I’m very curious to try this for my own animals – it seems like such a great idea! Thank you for your great blog!
    -Tammy

    • Inspired Ink says:

      Hi Tammy,

      I was actually getting ready to do a series on the sprouts. I use large buckets for them, but I’m going to start a new series that will make it easier to see the sprouts and some other details. I haven’t been posting much (at all really) over the holidays, but I’ll be getting back to it. I had planned to start that sprout series for the pics tomorrow in fact. 🙂 So yes, look for that info very soon. It takes about 6 days at these temperatures to fully complete it, so the post should be up in about a week. 🙂 Thanks for the compliments! And thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

