You can lead a duck to water …

But you cannot make them splash!

The dabbling duck duo

Actually, my ducks love to troop out to the temporary “pond” created by all the rain we’ve been having, and splash happily away. Spying them through the window, I think to myself, “Now’s my chance!” I snatch up my camera and sneak outside … and they immediately notice me and make a mad dash for “shore” tumbling over each other in their race to get to me  in case I have food.

That’s the trouble with being The Bringer of the Food … the animals NEVER act naturally when I show up with a camera.

I think I’ll be needing duck-blinds, but for a whole ‘nother purpose!

After three days of trying, I FINALLY got these shots. Enjoy!

(Oh, and please excuse the wind noise and the camera shake … I had to zoom from quite a way back to get the video … the next video when I stepped closer is, as usual, all the ducks leaving the water to stand around my feet!)

About Inspired Ink

Artist, crafter, writer, experimental chef extraordinaire ;) ... farmer, mom, teacher, gardener, natural health enthusiast. I love my life, am surrounded by animals that make me laugh and entertain me, from silently chattering muscovies to a dancing llama. My favorite hobby right now is finding old things at the flea market and turning them into something new and different. I love to surround myself with beautiful things (beauty is always in the eye of the beholder), better yet if they are made by my own hands. I love to dance, to sing, to smile and laugh. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Ducks, Livestock and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

