Happy New Year, Happy Birthday, and wagging doggy tails!

OK, just ONE doggie tail, but when it’s in motion, it seems like a lot of tails!

I just wanted to check in really. The holidays have kept me busy — not busy as many folks are, but for Christmas I decided to cook a huge turkey and all the trimmings — dressing, cranberry sauce, mashed potatoes, sweet potato casserole, gravy, corn on the cob, yeasty rolls, fruit salad (I’ve been corrected that mine is not a “salad” but “ambrosia” … I like that name too!). And a brand new recipe for an old favorite, chocolate chip pecan pie.

The pie actually turned out a lot more like the old Mississippi Mud pie at Po’Folks if any of y’all remember that. It’s definitely a keeper.  I’ll share it here too, I promise, and see if any of the pics came out. But it’s not really what I’d call a pecan pie, so this year I haven’t had one of those yet. I still have a lot of pecans left, that’s as good an excuse as any to bake one!

And today is my birthday! Happy Birthday to me! I went to “the City” LOL. To a big natural foods store, looking to see if I could find anything good and curious what people pay for the farm-fresh goodness,  I was shocked! By my calculations, I have about a million dollars worth “on the hoof” out there. Then again, they expected to get $20 for just a slice of a muscovy duck’s breast. I don’t think I could actually SELL a muscovy for $20 a pound. But here I am eating like a king, then again I already knew that.  Fresh eggs, meat, milk, veggies … yes we are spoiled out here in the country. 🙂

And my wagging doggy tail. One of the main reasons I’ve been so busy. I’m not sure if I posted about it here, but my sweet German Shepherd, Ryker, has been having a rough time of it. It seems he wasn’t digesting his food and almost starved to death, even eating 10 cups a day. But thankfully with my background in natural health, and the wonders of the internet and the world of info out there, I was able to piece the puzzle together and he’s back on the road to recovery. That has been one of the best holiday gifts yet … he just turned two years old and I was nowhere near ready to lose him!

So, I’m still here, and today is the last day of “my holidays.” I always give myself January 2 as a holiday tacked onto Christmas and New Year’s week, since it’s my birthday. I’ll be back to regular tasks tomorrow, so you can expect to hear from our little farm more regularly again!

About Inspired Ink

Artist, crafter, writer, experimental chef extraordinaire ;) ... farmer, mom, teacher, gardener, natural health enthusiast. I love my life, am surrounded by animals that make me laugh and entertain me, from silently chattering muscovies to a dancing llama. My favorite hobby right now is finding old things at the flea market and turning them into something new and different. I love to surround myself with beautiful things (beauty is always in the eye of the beholder), better yet if they are made by my own hands. I love to dance, to sing, to smile and laugh. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Dogs, Holidays, Pets, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy New Year, Happy Birthday, and wagging doggy tails!

  1. zumaritojOHN says:

    Hi found at V7N and click on your page! Glad I did that your page is so bright, outstanding it make one humble just looking at it!

    Jonmmm From V7N

    • Inspired Ink says:

      Very kind of you to say! This one is actually just a personal blog for myself, but I do it because I enjoy it. I’ve been working so hard on getting the others up to speed this one has fallen behind a bit though! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

